I have just finished creating an assignment (5days) that  is all kept in a wiki.  I decided to a lesson on how the Greek and Etruscans influenced Rome.  The link to the wiki is http://domboskisworld.wikispaces.com/Lesson+Overview.

I really like the idea of keeping everything all in one location for students and it being available at home or at school.  I think a quick lesson on how to use a wiki would help student be able to figure out how to navigate through the wiki.  It is also nice because there is a feature to comment right on the wiki page as well but I did not utilize it.  I find it to be not very intuitive so I had my students also collaborating on Edmodo.  I’m a little concerned that using both tools will become confusing but I know my students are use to collaborating on Edmodo, so I wanted to keep up that consistency.  It is easy to make links to files, images, websites and pages within the wiki itself.

One thing that I couldn’t figure out how to do is how to put pages under other pages.  If this is not possible  then I would have to create a brand new wiki for each project I wanted to do like this. I could see that becoming a little bit of a hassle.   Overall I thought the idea of creating an assignment that is encapsulated in a wiki is  a great way to keep students organized with an online project.

About kmdomboski

I am a middle school social studies teacher and a current School Library Media graduate student. I have been teaching for over 11 years. I also am Nationally Board Certified and have a masters in Technology for Educators from Johns Hopkins University.

Leave a Reply

