http://www.flickr.com//photos/kdomboski/sets/72157629334132354/show/

Utilizing my own pictures in a lesson for Ancient History was a little more difficult, so I began to look outside of my comfort zone.  After visiting my counties middle school curriculum. I decide that Flickr would be a great resource to use in Spanish.  Our Spanish I students have to communicate in Spanish on various topics, such as vacations, which I am lucky enough to have quite a few picture of.  I thought students could use the above slideshow to “discuss travel and vacation activities”.  They also could use these pictures in various ways to show Spanish content mastery. As part of the curriculum students should also be decide how weather would impact the trip and determine the necessities of the trip.  You could also bring in some research skills by having students use clues found in the pictures to help determine exactly where I was on vacation and more information about the vacation spot

Although, Flickr is not the only way to show pictures, it is an easy way to store photos and there are some wonderful sharing tools built into Flickr.  The slideshow is just one option.  But if you would like some more great ideas on using Flickr in the classroom, check out Lesley Edwards’s Blog The WebFooted Booklady.  I especially like her ideas on promoting Genres(which is linked to a gallery of photos) and creating excitement around upcoming events.

Works Cited

Frederick County Public Schools. (n.d.). World languages essential curriculum. FCPSTeach. Retrieved March 29, 2012,
from http://sites.fcps.org/teach/worldLangEssentialCurriculum

Edwards, L. (n.d.). Flickr and the School Library. The Webfooted Booklady. Retrieved March 29, 2012, from
http://bookminder.blogspot.com/2010/02/flickr-and-school-library.html

About kmdomboski

I am a middle school social studies teacher and a current School Library Media graduate student. I have been teaching for over 11 years. I also am Nationally Board Certified and have a masters in Technology for Educators from Johns Hopkins University.

One response »

  1. I think sharing your personal vacation photos is a great way to build rapport with students. The writing topics are endless with this set.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

